26.6 C
New York
Tuesday, May 28, 2024

FG inaugurates 17-man committee for Democracy Day anniversary

The Federal Government on Wednesday in Abuja inaugurated a 17-man Inter-Ministerial Committee on 2024 Democracy Day Celebration.

The committee is charged with the responsibility of organising a memorable and befitting democracy day anniversary.

This is contained in a statement by Mr. Segun Imohiosen, Director, Information/Public Relations, office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF).

According to the statement, the SGF, Sen. George Akume, while inaugurating the committee in his office, emphasised the importance of the commemoration.

Akume said it was an opportunity to reflect on the contributions, sacrifices of national heroes and heroines who fought for entrenchment of democratic rule in Nigeria.

According to him, the annual democracy day celebration also affords the nation the avenue to showcase its achievements in dealing with myriads of challenges in social and economic sectors confronting the nation.

The proposed activities lined up for the 2024 Democracy Day celebration are; World Press Briefing on Thursday, June 6, Juma’at Service on Friday June 7, Church Service on Sunday, June 9.

Also Read  CBN lifts ban on cryptocurrency transactions

Other activities to mark the celebration include Symposium/Public Lecture on Monday, June 10, and the Presidential Broadcast alongside Parade on Wednesday, June 12.

The committee, chaired by Akume, has the Minister of Information and National Orientation, Mohammed Idris Malagi; Minister of Interior, Dr Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo; Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun, as members.

Others are, Minister of Budget and Economic Planning, Sen. Abubakar Bagudu; Minister of Foreign Affairs, Yusuf Tuggar; Minister of FCT, Nyesom Wike.

“The committee also includes the Special Adviser to the President on Policy and Coordination, Hadiza Bala-Usman; Special Adviser to the President on Information and Strategy, Bayo Onanuga; Inspector-General of Police, Kayode Egbetokun and other sub-committees.” (NAN)

Okon Okon
Also Read  No plans to convert domiciliary account holdings into Naira CBN
+ posts

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles