20 C
New York
Wednesday, May 22, 2024

NBA clears 37 for election, disqualifies 12

The Nigerian Bar Association has cleared 37 contestants vying for various positions in its forthcoming election.

This was contained in a document which showed that 12 others were disqualified from the poll, with the advice that disqualified candidates reserve the right to appeal to the National Officers Election Appeal Committee.

The NBA election is scheduled to take place on July 20, 2024, and all registered members from branches across the country are expected to participate.

It also stated that an electronic voting system has been adopted by the body for the election to enable members to participate in the election seamlessly from their different locations.

A document dated May 3, 2024, and signed by the chairman, Electoral Committee of the NBA, Oluseun Abimbola (SAN), and the Secretary, Huwaila Ibrahim, respectively, listed the names cleared for the forthcoming election of National Officers and NBA representatives at the General Council of Bar.

In the category of the President; Afam Osigwe (SAN), Tobenna Erojikwe and Chukwuka Nwabueze (SAN) were listed.

The category for the First Vice-President had Gerald Aboniyi, Reginald Ugwadu, Bartholomew Aguebodo, Sosapiriye Williams and Iwezor Promise-Webo Iwezor.

Also Read  E-Money, car dealer in dispute over N1.2bn

In the category of the Second Vice President, Bolatumi Animashaun and Oiwoh Idemudia were listed.

Similarly, in the category of the Third Vice President, Zainab Garba, Michael Olorunmola and Abdulwasiu Alfa were listed. While for the General Secretary category, only Mobolaji Ojibara was cleared.

In the category of the assistant General Secretary, Henry Ehi and Oluwaseun Aka were listed.

For the position of treasurer, only Blessing Udofa-Poromon was cleared. However, for the Welfare Secretary position, Aigbokhai Osagie, Ernest Uwanaka and Nyada Auta were cleared.

The Publicity Secretary position had Ferdinand Naza, Bridget Edokwe and Charles Ajiboye, just as the assistant Publicity Secretary position had Lawrence Ayewa and Ebiere Ekpese as contestants.

The names cleared as representatives to the General Council of Bar include Eric Ibe, Tijani Magaji, Obi Arizona, Sulayman Dawud, Olukunle Edun, Kingsley Asagba, Isreal Lagbamue, Augustine Ike, Daniel Kip, Michael Onuorah and Precious Nwadimuya, respectively.

The body listed those disqualified as Joyce Oduah, Anyia Ubua, Osamuede Asenoguan, Tsav Iyorember, Caroline Anze-Bishop, Henry Chiduabo, Mbamala Aloysius, Felix Ashimole, Adejorin Abiona, Wahab Muhammed, Dhikrullah Balogun and Ibekwe Nkiru.

Also Read  Tribunal upholds Tinubu’s election victory

When asked to explain the reasons for the disqualification of some members, the NBA National Publicity Secretary, Akorede Lawal said, “The reasons for the disqualification have been shared with affected members.”

Gracie Brown
+ posts

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles