10 C
New York
Friday, December 8, 2023

Nigerian film maker Stephanie Linus becomes chairperson of Oscars submission committee

The prestigious Academy Awards, also known as the Oscars, has announced Stephanie Linus, a renowned Nigerian actress and film maker, as the head of the Nigerian Official Selection Committee for the Best International Feature Film category.

The previous leader and founder of the committee, Chineze Anyaene-Abonyi, had resigned from her role recently.

The NOSC has also reformed its membership and included the following personalities: Chidia Maduekwe, the Managing Director of the Nigerian Film Corporation; Victor Okhai, the President of the Directors’ Guild of Nigeria; Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, a veteran actress; Andy Amenechi, a former President of DGN; Yibo Koko, a theatre practitioner; and Izu Ojukwu, a writer and director.

Other members are DJ Tee, a cinematographer; Emem Isong, a filmmaker; Dimeji Ajibola, a director; Jude Idada, a writer and director; John Njamah, a director; Meg Otanwa, an actress; and Ngozi Okafor.

The new team will be in charge of collecting, screening, and voting on films that will represent Nigeria in the IFF category.

According to a statement sent to The PUNCH, the new members will bring their varied creative experiences into the process of selecting the best film from Nigeria for the IFF category.

The IFF (formerly known as the Best Foreign Language) Award is given every year by the Academy to a feature-length film made outside the United States that has 50 per cent or more of non-English dialogue.

The Oscars also have other requirements for submitted films, such as accurate English subtitles, shooting formats, and theatrical releases.

Efosa Ayobahan
+ posts

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles